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Adult Name Change Brochure 
 

LEWIS COUNTY DISTRICT COURT 
345 W Main Street, 3rd Floor 
Chehalis, WA  98532-4802 
Telephone (360) 740-1203 

 
INTRODUCTION 

A person is free to adopt and use any name that he/she sees fit so long as it is not done for any fraudulent 

purpose and does not infringe upon the rights of others. 

A person cannot change one's name to avoid family responsibilities, to evade creditors, to aid a fugitive 

from justice, to avoid paying taxes, to intentionally injure or embarrass another person, or to unfairly 

compete in business or a profession.   

WHERE TO FILE 

A document, called a "Petition for Change of Name”, can be filed in any district court in the state. 

 Lewis County District Court's hours are 8:00 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., Monday through Thursday and 8:30 a.m. 

until 4:30 p.m. on Fridays. 

WHAT TO FILE 

If the person whose name is to be changed is 18 YEARS OF AGE OR MORE you must: 

 Present a piece of identification which contains your photograph and signature;  

 File a completed Petition for Name Change; and  

 Pay a filing fee of $83.00. 

IF YOU ARE UNDER THE JURISDICTION OF THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS 

The court clerk is required by law to ask you if you are under the supervision of the Washington State 

Department of Corrections. 

If you have been convicted of a felony crime, and are under the supervision of the state Department of 

Corrections, the Court will not grant the petition to change your name unless you prove that you have 

submitted a copy of the petition to the DOC at least five (5) before the hearing, and the Court finds that 

changing your name will not interfere with legitimate penological interests. (RCW 4.24.130(2) 

Your hearing will be set five Thursdays after completion of filing, at 9:30 a.m., to allow ample time for 

submission of the Petition to the DOC. 

You must file an Affidavit of Service, including any proof of mailing, with the court on your hearing date.  

IF YOU ARE REQUIRED TO REGISTER AS A SEX OFFENDER 

The court clerk is required by law to ask you if you are required to register as a sex offender. 

If you are required to register as a sex offender with state and local law enforcement, the Court will not 

grant the petition to change your name unless you prove that a copy of the petition has been submitted to 

both the Lewis County Sheriff’s Office and the Washington State Patrol and that the changing of your name 

does not interfere with legitimate law enforcement interests.  

Your hearing will be set five Thursdays after completion of filing, at 9:30 a.m., to allow ample time for 

submission of the Petition to the Lewis County Sheriff’s Office and Washington State Patrol. 

You must file an Affidavit of Service, including any proof of mailing, with the court on your hearing date.  
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COSTS 

The fee to file a Petition for Name Change is $83 and is due at the time of filing the petition. 

An additional $218.50 in fees must be paid if the Court signs the order for name change. These fees are 

broken down as follows: 

 $10     Admin Fee 

 $5    One Certified Copy of Order 

 $203.50   Recording Fee for County Auditor  

If you would like additional certified copies of the order, you may purchase them for $5 each. 

Hearings and Court Room Procedures 

When you file your Petition for Name Change, the Clerk will assign you a hearing date and provide you 

with a hearing notice containing the date and time. The hearing will be scheduled two Thursdays after the 

filing date, at 9:30 a.m. 

On the hearing date, arrive early and wait in the courtroom for your name to be called. While the actual time 

to complete your hearing is minimal, you will have to wait your turn, so plan on at least an hour for your 

case to be completed. 

You must attend the hearing in person.  When the Judge calls your case, come to the front of the 

Courtroom.  The Judge will ask you some questions in order to determine if the petition should be granted.  

If the Judge allows the name change, you will report to the Clerk's counter, pay the additional fees, and 

receive the certified copy. 

Required Notification to Other Agencies 

 If the person whose name has been changed was born in the State of Washington, the Department of Vital 

Records requires notice of the order changing the person’s name.  You must mail a certified copy to:    

Washington Department of Vital Records, PO Box 9709 ET-14, Olympia, WA. 98504-9709.  It is 

suggested that you request a copy of the birth certificate reflecting the name change.  This will require a 

check for $20.00 and a self-addressed stamped envelope. 

If you are merely reverting to a maiden name after a divorce, there is no need to change your name with the 

Department of Vital Records. 

 The Social Security Administration requires you to provide them with a certified copy of the order changing 

your name.  The local office is located at 1821 Cooks Hill Rd., Suite 100, Centralia, WA 98531. 

 If the person whose name has been changed holds a driver's license, the Department of Licensing requires a 

certified copy of the court order be shown to them in order to issue a new drivers' license. 

 If the person whose name has been changed is in military service, an additional certified copy is necessary 

to be provided for military records.  

 If the person whose name is changed is required to register as a sex offender, then a copy of the order must 

be provided to the sheriff’s office of the county of residence and the Washington State Patrol within five (5) 

days of the date of the entry of the order. 


